Medical Condition Takes Toll on Motley Crue Guitarist Mick Mars

Burdened by an arthritic degenerative disease called Ankylosing Spondylitis, MIck Mars struggles with head movement and has lost 6 inches of his height.

You can see in recent photos and videos that it seems like he favors his head and neck. It’s a shame.

To struggle with such an ailment and still work and tour for the fans, that says a lot about the character of this man. Hats off to Mick Mars.

27 Responses to “Medical Condition Takes Toll on Motley Crue Guitarist Mick Mars”

  1. It’s not for the fans, it’s for himself. He can’t let go of the glory days!

  2. It might be for himself, but you know what that is awesome. And I’ll tell you what Hawk it has nothing to do with his glory days; it’s about getting out there living while he still can. I suffer from the same diease and you obvisouly have no idea the toll this diease puts on your body.

  3. I’m sorry about your disease and his as well. I don’t like to see people suffer. Let me clarify myself: He should stop touring because they suck! They were great in the 80s but now, NOT! Same goes for Jagger and Page and Daltrey and Townsend! Let someone else stand in the limelight for a change! They are all attention hogs and would be touring healthy or otherwise!

  4. I was watching a show about Motley Crue, and they were talking about Mick having AS. I was of course interested in watching now. I suffer from AS as well, and after watching the show. I just want to let Mick know he inspired me , by not being depressed about having this disease, but, to go out and LIVE YOUR LIFE!!! I was so proud to hear you went on tour with the band!! so a big THANK- YOU goes out to you!! now i am willing to help myself, and know i can still live the life I want to live. Just with a some limitations!!! all the best to you Mick!! KEEP ROCKING!!

  5. Another A.S. Survivor here…I’m not a hardcore Crue fan, but I was a teenager in the 80′s, and when I found out last year Mick has the same condition, it was inspirational to see that he’s out there on tour again. If anyone knows of an interview where he talks a lot more about his experiences with the disease, please please post it.

  6. Great read.

    Make sure to check out Ankylosing Spondylitis for your number one Ankylosing Spondylitis source on the internet.

  7. Mick we have your support and your back over here at MaximumThreshold.net keep strong!!

    Dom
    dom@maximumthreshold.net

  8. They aren’t attention hogs if they’re music’s still good, Hawk. Their new album’s got some great songs which I can’t stop listening to and I’ll put them in the same category of awe I have the other, 1980′s songs in.

  9. Not so much attention hogs as generation swine! You would never know from this blog that they put out a new album last year. I might check it out of the library after all.

  10. JOHNNY ANGEL Says:

    LIKE I SAID WE ASSHOLES IN THIS WORLD THAT CAN’T KEEP THEIR FUCKED UP COMMENTS TO THEMSELVES..IT’S IN TILL THEY GET ILL OR SOMETHING TRAGIC HAPPENS IN THEIR LIFE.. WHAT GOES UP MUST COME DOWN FOOLS.. FTW….

  11. Whos this hawkeye fool?

  12. I already told you who I am. I am the Conscience Of Powerline!

  13. I also saw the special on A & E and was surprised and ultimately inspired by Mick’s perseverence regarding AS. I too have AS and know the obstacles we must overcome to remain active and vibrant. The more this disease is discussed, the better chances for a cure. My best wishes to Mick and continued success with MC.

  14. Alive in the Madness Says:

    I also saw the A & E special. I also have Ankylosing Spondylitis. I have had it 22 years. I am now 43 yrs old but think I am 23 yrs old but feel 80 yrs old physically! This is a very difficult disease to manage. earlier this year allowed myself to know my actual height, as I knew what was happening to me. I have gone from 5″11 to 5.5″.

    I had always known that Mick Mars suffered from a life altering disease, and felt bad for the guy for the way he moved on stage and for the toll his disease had taken on his aging process. until 2 days ago, i had no idea his disease is my disease! Great guitar player, music writer and now the guy i gotta look up to!? Damn, its worse than i thought! I always thought I was most like Sixx,( full of rude attitude yet quietly medicated and aged well, unlike T-Lee being loudly rude and rudely medicated…..) NOT MICK MARS! well now i know how my ride into the sunset is gonna look; but just how it will play out……??? i guess thats up to me, now isnt it?

  15. Barstool Billy Says:

    You do what have to; what you can. I’ve had AS, RA, and scoliosis for 25 years. Been playing bass for 35 years. Still play out at least once a week in the local DE band scene. Get strange looks from lots of people but what the hell! I’m gonna keep playing until I’m dead or my fingers fall off, whatever comes first. I think Mick is doing the same.

  16. iv had as for40 years & was led to believe it would level out .Well guess what mines got worse with age ,but its good if not a little selfish to see im not on my own goodluck to mick may you keep on rocking .i know what the pain can be so mick youv gone up in my estimation good luck to all as sufferers.

  17. You have done it once more. Great article.

  18. Lisa K M Calladine Says:

    Mick, you’re still beautiful, you’re still rocking. Keep living, keep dreaming, keep rocking – A fan of Mick Mars always and forever

    Libby

  19. Lisa K M Calladine Says:

    If there’s a fan club for Mick Mars – can someone please let me know. Thanks.

    God bless Mick Mars and all those who suffer from whatever illness, but still strong, still holding it together despite it all.

    Libby (aging in perspective)

  20. Sad , debilitating , and so painful. pulled this up to see how they were treating Mick Mars . Have to hand it to him getting back with his group and keeping with his passion . You go Guy Mick , stay strong.

  21. I just saw Motley on Friday in Houston and they were awesome. Hawk sounds like a kid who wants his generation’s day in the sun, but nobody’s home. Where are your generation’s Rock Stars, Hawkie? Yea, that’s what I thought. Case closed.

    • Anonymous Says:

      Case closed is right! This blog has been inactive since February. The only other person than myself that has read your comment is P. Piddy, the founder and sole contributor to this blog…

      And for your information, my generation has a voice and his name is Bania!

  22. This kid ‘Hawk’ is an idiot. Son you wouldn’t’my know good rock if it walked up and kicked you in the teeth. I’m sure Mick would cut your Ass in his healthier days. I would certainly stand in for him and commence to stomping a mudhole in your disrespectful Ass!! Come back when you learn some proper manners and respect for classic rock and this metal Guru that is Mick Mars!! I’m so sick of you young, uneducated punks that wouldn’t know their asses from a hole in the ground. Grow up little kid!!!

  23. I have AS and Mick Mars is honestly wonderful to share this disease. It takes courage. You are a blessing to us non celebrities. People do not understand this condition. I had a boss ridicue my neck position, said I looked like a hawk. I like the blues but not sure about Crue tunes. I desperately wish to see A&E story. Mick lets take this AS walk in the park. It is easier with friends with AS.

  24. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that
    over again. Anyways, just wanted to say great blog!

  25. I haven’t heard of his disease. Does it really shorten the height of a human?

  26. Yes it does lower your height, this disease is a variant of RA, only instead of hands and feet it fuses your spine. I’m a drummer and have played for 40 years and I have AS the first drug they gave me to lower my immune system, Methotrexate gave me Lymphoma. So now I’m doing Chemo. I give Mick a lot of credit for working so hard. I know this is a chronic pain condition. AK is a horrible disease, I wouldn’t wish it on anybody. I hope you’re stable Mick, you’re probably doing a Biologic like Remicade or Humira. Best of luck my friend! I still play but I’ve been a Private Investigator for a long time now. Jeff

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

